E-file Hawaii Taxes for a Fast & Easy Filing Experience

Hawaii Islands Map

Hawaii utilizes variable rates when it comes to taxing residents and qualifying non-residents' incomes. Single people required to file Hawaii taxes can expect to pay 1.4% on the first $2400 of taxable income and 3.2% on income between $2401 and $4800. For annual income that falls between $4801 to $9600, the taxation rate will be 5.5%. Incomes between $$9601 to $14,400 are taxed at 6.4%. A tax rate of 6.8% applies to incomes between $14,401 to $19,200 while incomes between $19,201 to $24,000 will be taxed at 7.2%.

Rate of Hawaii Taxes

A rate of 7.6% applies to income between $24,001 to $36,000 while incomes of $36,001 to $48,000 are taxed at 7.9%. A rate of 8.25% applies to incomes that fall between $48,001 to $150,000, and a rate of 9% applies to incomes that range from $150,001 to $175,000. Incomes that range between $175,001 to $200,000 are taxed at 10%. Incomes above the $200,000 mark are taxed at 11%. These taxation rates remain the same for people who file as married filing jointly. However, the income levels are doubled for those individuals.

Additionally, instead of the traditional April 15 deadline required by the federal government and most states, taxpayers in Hawaii have until April 20 to file their returns.

Payments and Hawaii Tax Refund

People who want to pay their income tax balances can call 1-800-2PAY-TAX or mail in their payment via check or money order directly to the state's Department of Revenue. People who are owed a Hawaii tax refund can check the status of their refunds online at https://tax.ehawaii.gov/hoihoi/refund.html.

Filing an Extension

People who are unable to make the April 20 deadline to file their state income taxes can request a six-month extension. They are required to use state Form N-101A to make this formal petition. If accepted, the taxpayer will be given until October 20 to file the returns. However, this extension does not apply to any balance the person owes to the state. Tax balances still must be paid in full by April 20.

An Amended Return

Taxpayers who need to file an amended return are required to use Forms N-11 or N-15, depending on whether they are full-time or part-time residents of the state. They must file an amended return if they failed to report income, if they were audited by the IRS, or if they wrongfully claimed exemptions to which they were not entitled.

Late Filing

If the balance of Hawaii taxes owed is not paid in entirety, taxpayers could face penalties of 5% for each month that the obligation remains unpaid.

Note: States & U.S. territories may make changes to their tax laws with little notice. We do our best to keep this information up-to-date, but it is provided on an "AS IS" basis. For more see our terms.

Ready to File Your State Tax Return? Start Today

Start Your State Income Taxes Now