File NC Taxes and Get Your Tax Refund Faster

North Carolina State Sign

North Carolina is one of 43 states that impose taxes on individual incomes earned from wages, salaries and investments. It is one of eight states that subscribe to a single-rate structure, in which all taxable income is assessed a 5.75 percent levy regardless of income bracket because the state does not use a graduated tax rate schedule unlike the 33 states who do.

In general, residents must file North Carolina income taxes if they meet or exceed the benchmark income levels of $7,500 for single filers or $15,000 for married taxpayers filing their returns jointly. Nonresidents who earned income from wages or investment from jobs or property located in the state will need to file for NC taxes. The same applies to part-year residents, but this group can file for a credit for taxes paid to another state.

For those who are not required to file state or federal returns but paid taxes during the year, a state tax return must be submitted to qualify for NC tax refunds.

The tax deadline for filing state taxes is the same as the April 15 federal deadline, but taxpayers may request for a six-month extension using Form D-410, which may be filed electronically. While the extension is automatic, filing D-410 will not extend the deadline for paying any taxes due for that year.

If a NC Tax Return Has Errors

State tax returns should be amended as soon as the taxpayer determines that the original return contained errors or omissions, using Form D-400X for the tax year in question. Amended tax returns that include a refund should be submitted within three years from the original deadline or two years from the date taxes were paid. Amended returns can be tracked by calling the Department of Revenue at 1-877-252-4052.

Changes made by the IRS on the federal return should be reported to NCDOR as an amendment on state tax returns. The amendment must be made within 6 months of receiving information about federal changes or face a 5 percent penalty every month not to exceed 25 percent of the tax due.

Preparing to File NC Taxes

Taxpayers should prepare and submit their federal tax returns prior to filing state taxes. A copy of the federal return may have to be attached if the return does not show a NC address. Typically, filers will use IRS Form D-400 to file North Carolina tax returns. However, special circumstances may require the use of IRS Forms D-400 Schedule S and D-400TC. The Department of Revenue recommends e-filing NC tax returns with a partnering online software provider such as ourselves, for more efficient processing.

The status of NC tax refunds can be tracked at eservices.dor.nc.gov/wheresmyrefund/ or by calling the Revenue Department at 1-877-252-4052. Additionally, other options for individual filers can be found on the eServices section of the Department of Revenue website, including a form for “Estimated Income Tax.”

Penalties for Unpaid NC Taxes

The NC Revenue Department will impose a 5 percent penalty every month that taxes due are unpaid after the April 15 deadline. This penalty is capped at 25 percent of the tax due.

Note: States & U.S. territories may make changes to their tax laws with little notice. We do our best to keep this information up-to-date, but it is provided on an "AS IS" basis. For more see our terms.

Ready to start your tax filing now?

Start Now