E-file Iowa Taxes for a Fast Refund

Iowa State Sign

Iowa residents and partial-year residents of Iowa are required to file income tax returns. Nonresidents who earn at least $1,000 in the state must also file a return for the applicable tax year. For deceased taxpayers, spouses may file Iowa taxes on their behalf. Individual income tax rates range between 7.92% and 8.98% depending on a taxpayer's income. With an annual tax revenue of close to $8 billion which is in the United States' median revenue range.

State income tax forms for individuals are due on April 30 each year. If the date falls on a weekend day, the forms are due the following Monday. Iowa tax extensions are due on October 31.

Iowa Tax Extensions

Iowa does not have a paper form for requesting an extension. If taxpayers who owe money pay at least 90% of the amount they owe by April 30, they automatically have until October 31 to file. Iowa does not honor federal extensions. This means any taxpayers who owe money and do not pay 90% by the due date will have to pay a penalty fee.

Filing An Amended Return

Use Form IA-1040X to file an amended return. After completing the form, mail it with any required payment to:
Iowa Income Tax Document Processing
PO Box 9187
Des Moines, IA 50306-9187

Estimated Tax Payments

Taxpayers who must make estimated tax payments can pay online or by mail. Paying an insufficient amount results in a fee of 5% of the amount owed. Failure to pay on time and submit the voucher on time results in a 10% fee of the amount owed. Visit efilepay.idr.iowa.gov/iao_aaa/welcome.asp to pay online. To pay by mail, use Form IA-1040V and mail to:
Iowa Department of Revenue
PO Box 9187
Des Moines, IA 50306-9187

Tracking Returns And Iowa Tax Refunds

Anyone can track tax their Iowa tax refund by going online to www.idr.iowa.gov/wheresmyrefund/. To check the status of an amended return or a return that may have been lost in the mail, call 800-367-3388.

Late Filing And Failure To Pay Penalties

If taxpayers file their returns by April 30 but owe money and do not pay at least 90% of it at the time of filing, they will be charged a fee of 5% of the unpaid balance. However, if they owe money and do not pay at least 90% of it by April 30 but also fail to file Iowa taxes on time, they will be charged a fee of 10% of the unpaid tax due.

Note: States & U.S. territories may make changes to their tax laws with little notice. We do our best to keep this information up-to-date, but it is provided on an "AS IS" basis. For more see our terms.

Ready to start your tax filing now?

Start Now