How to E-file Nebraska Taxes & Get a Fast Tax Refund

Nebraska State Sign

Nebraska income tax rates vary based on taxable income. They range from 2.46% to 6.84% as of 2016. This is about average in comparison with other states. Annual tax revenue exceeds $4 billion, which is less than the total tax revenue for most states.

Residents, partial-year residents and nonresidents who earned income in the state must file Nebraska taxes for the applicable tax year. Residents include those who spent 183 days or more in the state.

Taxpayers who file with receive verification after filing when their return is accepted. For those who expect refunds, there is an online tracking tool on the state's site. It is not applicable for amended returns. To check the status of an amended return, call 402-471-5604.

To File A Tax Extension

The Department accepts the IRS tax extension of time to file. It is only necessary to file an extension of time if you are making a tentative tax payment or when a federal extension is not filed. A six-month extension to file (Form 1040N) may be obtained by attaching the proper Federal Extension Form to the Nebraska return on or before the due date, when it is filed.

Extensions must also be filed by April 15. Filers who file valid extensions must submit their Nebraska income tax returns by October 15. If payment is not received but an extension is filed, interest will accrue on the amount due at a rate of 5% per month. Mail the form to the Department of Revenue at:
PO Box 94818
Lincoln, NE 68509-4818

If You Made a Mistake

If an error was made in filing a return, use Form 1040XN to file an amendment. For a return with a refund, mail the Department of Revenue:
PO Box 98912
Lincoln, NE 68509-8912

If a payment is included use the address:
PO Box 98934
Lincoln, NE 68509-8934

Setting Up Estimated Tax Payments

Estimated payments can be set up online on the state's Department of Revenue site. They can also be made with most major credit cards by calling 800-2PAY-TAX. Use 3700 for the required jurisdiction code.

If You Do Not Pay

If Nebraska taxes due are unpaid or are only partially paid by April 15, interest accrues at a rate of 5% per month. There is a total maximum charge of 25%. The state offers a short-term payment arrangement option or a long-term payment plan with EFT authorization.

Note: States & U.S. territories may make changes to their tax laws with little notice. We do our best to keep this information up-to-date, but it is provided on an "AS IS" basis. For more see our terms.

Ready to File Your State Tax Return? Start Today

Start Your State Income Taxes Now