E-file New Hampshire Taxes & Get a Speedy Tax Refund
New Hampshire focuses on taxing assets, services and investment income rather than wages or merchandise. For example, the Granite State requires people to pay taxes when they use utilities, order prepared meals or stay in hotel rooms.
Interest and Dividends
When residents earn money from investment dividends or interest-bearing accounts, they must set aside 5% for taxes. This charge only applies to individuals who receive over $2,400 per year. If a couple files New Hampshire taxes jointly, this limit doubles. The state also provides $1,200 exemptions to seniors and blind or otherwise disabled residents. It requires taxpayers to file Form DP-10 by April 15.
Citizens have the option to pay this tax online with credit cards or electronic checks. When someone uses a credit card, the state government charges a 2.19% fee. This adds almost $11 to the total cost of a $500 payment. The minimum fee is 50 cents.
If a resident with interest or dividend income owes more than $500 per year, New Hampshire expects the person to make quarterly estimated payments in January, April, June and September. Taxpayers must enclose Form DP-10-ES with each check and send it to the Department of Revenue Administration.
The state allows taxpayers to request tax extensions if they need more time to file this return. The extension application is known as Form DP-59-A. Residents may also update previous dividend and interest returns. They can file amendments by completing Form DP-87-ID. Filers must fill out a separate form for each year.
New Hampshire Taxes on Services
All residents and visitors pay a 9% tax when they eat at restaurants, stay in motels, rent vehicles or go camping. The state also adds fees to most utility bills. It charges a 7% tax on communication services, such as phone, Internet access and each kilowatt of electricity as well.
Local Property Taxes
Municipal governments estimate real estate values so that they can tax property owners every three to 12 months. For example, people in Manchester pay $23.50 for every $1,000 of assessed value. While most property tax revenue funds local services, some cash goes to the state government's education budget.
People in this state generally pay the most state taxes if they own real estate property and numerous dividend-paying stocks. Residents can avoid taxation by preparing meals at home, conserving electricity or minimizing travel.
Estimated Quarterly Payment Forms
Residents can use Form DP-10-ES to pay estimated quarterly payments on interest and dividends. There are exceptions and penalties for underpayment of estimated tax.
Note: States & U.S. territories may make changes to their tax laws with little notice. We do our best to keep this information up-to-date, but it is provided on an "AS IS" basis. For more see our terms.