File Mass Taxes the Easier Way

Massachusetts State Map

Massachusetts is one of several states that utilizes a flat rate to tax residents' wages and salaries. Incomes derived from wages, salaries, self-employment, and commissions are taxed at 5.15%, regardless of the amount. Incomes generated from capital gains are taxed at 12%. Other sources of income taxed by the state include pensions, rents, business income, dividends, royalties, interest, alimony, and annuities. Non-residents are required to file Massachusetts tax returns and pay income taxes to the state if their incomes are $8000 or higher.

How to File for a Mass Tax Extension

Like many other states, as well as the federal government, Massachusetts requires that all qualifying taxpayers file and submit their Massachusetts tax returns by April 15 of each year.

People who are unable to meet that deadline can apply for an extension by using state Form M-4868. An extension does not apply to balances, in fact, all tax obligations must be paid in full by April 15 regardless of if an extension is filled or not. However, it does provide you more time to file your return.

How to File an Amended Return

People who need to file amended returns are required to use Form CA-6. This form can be found on the state's Department of Revenue's website. An amended return is required when people fail to report all sources of income or they fail to claim exemptions to which they are entitled. They likewise should file an amended Mass tax return if they wrongfully claimed exemptions or if they were audited by the IRS. Amended returns should be submitted via the same method used to file the first return. For example, if a person filed electronically, this person's amended return also must be filed electronically as well.

Massachusetts tax payments to the state can be made online at www.mass.gov/dor/e-services/. Likewise, people who are expecting state income tax refunds can also use this same Department of Revenue site to check the status of their refund checks.

People who are unable to pay their tax balances in entirety can apply for a payment installment agreement. The application for an installment agreement can be found at https://wfb.dor.state.ma.us/webfile/wsi/ and mailed to:

Massachusetts Department of Revenue
Customer Service Bureau
P.O. Box 7010
Boston, MA 02204

Amended returns can also be mailed to this same address.

Delinquency and Penalties

Taxpayers who neglect to set up a payment arrangement and forgo paying their taxes by the April 15 deadline risk incurring penalties. The penalties levied by the state are determined by the taxpayer's delinquency amount, as well as the person's family size and income level. Depending on whether or not the person's income falls at or below the established federal poverty guideline, this individual could face fines that range from $20 to $91 a month, or $240 to $1092 per year. Failure to pay the penalties or owed balance to the state could also result in forfeiture of the person's state income tax refund.

Note: States & U.S. territories may make changes to their tax laws with little notice. We do our best to keep this information up-to-date, but it is provided on an "AS IS" basis. For more see our terms.

Ready to start your tax filing now?

Start Now