E-file Oregon’s Income Taxes & Get Your Tax Refund Fast

Oregon State Map

There are four tax rates in Oregon ranging between 5% and 9.9%. With annual income tax revenue of $8 billion, Oregon is in the median range for the United States. April 15 is the deadline for filing Oregon taxes or extension requests in Oregon. If an extension is filed, the new filing deadline is October 15.

Residents of Oregon must file Form 40, nonresidents must file Form 40N and partial-year residents must file Form 40P to file OR taxes for applicable years. Spouses of recently deceased taxpayers may file for the decedent.

Taxpayers who file a federal Form 4868 for an extension when a Oregon tax refund is expected do not need to file an extension in Oregon. All other taxpayers requesting an Oregon tax extension should complete Form 40-EXT and mail it with a required payment by April 15 to the Oregon Department of Revenue at:

PO Box 14950
Salem, OR 97309-0980
If an error is made on a return, the taxpayer may choose to file an amendment. Amended returns with no tax due should be sent to the Department of Revenue at:
PO Box 14700
Salem, OR 97309-0930

If taxes are due use the address:
PO Box 14555
Salem, OR 97309-0940

Oregon Tax Refund or Return – Checking Electronically

Oregon tax refund status for original returns can be checked on the Department of Revenue's site. Return acceptance is usually sent electronically for e-filed returns. Refunds are distributed faster for e-filed Oregon returns. To check the status of an amended return, call 503-378-4988. Amended returns take several months to process.

40 ESV Voucher System for Estimated Payments

Oregon taxpayers who must pay quarterly estimated taxes can pay by credit card through an approved third party on the state's site or by mail using Form 40-ESV. Mail required payments with their 40-ESV vouchers by the quarterly due date.

Nonpayment Penalties

If taxpayers file their Oregon tax returns on time but do not pay at least 90% of the tax they owe at the time of filing, they will be charged a fee of 5% of the tax they owe as a penalty. For taxpayers who owe money and do not file their OR taxes within 3 months of the deadline, a 20% fee of the total tax owed is added to the original 5% penalty.

Note: States & U.S. territories may make changes to their tax laws with little notice. We do our best to keep this information up-to-date, but it is provided on an "AS IS" basis. For more see our terms.

Ready to start your tax filing now?

Start Now